5 Oct 14, a Prude and The Henry Ford Museum

Well, the lady behind the counter was correct, I guess I was a prude last night.  I had several pounds of candy ready to go for the camp ground, but received an enticing offer to go to my brother’s house to watch college football and eat brats.  Who in their right mind could pass that up??  The Badgers got beat by Northwestern, which was disconcerting at best, but the company and the food were awesome.  On top of that, the Coach had not been egged while I was gone.  I got back to the RV Park about 9:30 last night, and the place was still hopping.  The whole place was nearly full, which was a surprise, as it was only about 1/8 full early Friday.  By 11:00 this morning, it was almost empty.  A lot of rain and cold over the past couple of days, but the morning proved sunny and gorgeous.

Early morning shot over Ford Lake looking back at the campground.

Early morning shot over Ford Lake looking back at the campground.

I spent some time this morning getting the Coach in order for a move tomorrow, and made a couple of trips to the Park store for coffee to make sure my name was not mud for not being around last night.  Was nice talking with a few other full-timers and catching up on the way things work in the fall at the RV Parks around here.  My brother, his wife, my nephew and his girlfriend met me here about 1:00, and I gave them a tour of the rolling estate.  We then departed for Dearborn, MI and the Henry Ford Museum.  My truck was made in Dearborn, so it was only natural that I visit its birthplace.  The added bonus was the Henry Ford Museum…what an AWESOME place.  If you are ever in the Detroit area, this is a must see.  It was so much more than I had imagined!  We only toured the museum portion, which is inside.  There is a whole other area outside called Greenfield Village that will have to wait for another stop in this area.

This place was not “everything Ford.”  In fact, there are displays that focus on the following:

  • With Liberty and Justice for all:  Explores the proud and painful evolution of American freedom
  • Heroes of the Sky:  Many actual planes and recreations of the early pioneers of aviation, science and enterprise
  • Presidential limousines:  From Teddy to Reagan, some of the actual presidential limos.  Ford used to lease them to the government for $1.00 as long as they got them back after they were put out of service.
  • Made in America:  Legacy of innovators from the 18th to the 20th Century that made America a manufacturing superpower
  • Driving America:  Awesome collection of historical vehicles and stories focused on the auto influence on American culture

There is so much more too…check it out at thehenryford.org

Here are some shots from the day:

The actual Presidential limo that JFK was assassinated in on 22 Nov, 1963

The actual Presidential limo that JFK was assassinated in on 22 Nov, 1963

The Allegheny Locomotive. One of the largest steam locomotives ever built.

The Allegheny Locomotive. One of the largest steam locomotives ever built. This photo does not do this “beast” justice.

The chair that President Lincoln was assassinated in at Ford's Theater in 1865.

The chair that President Lincoln was assassinated in at Ford’s Theater in 1865.

The Rosa Parks Bus.  This is the actual bus that Rosa Parks boarded in Montgomery, AL on Dec 1, 1965 that inspired a new quest for American freedom and equality.

The Rosa Parks Bus. This is the actual bus that Rosa Parks boarded in Montgomery, AL on Dec 1, 1965 that inspired a new quest for American freedom and equality.  You are able to go inside the bus.

A classic!  The 1952 Wienermobile.  Built on a 22" long Dodge Chassis

A classic! The 1952 Wienermobile. Built on a 22′ long Dodge Chassis

From the agriculture exhibit.  The 1939 Prototype 9N Ford-Ferguson.  The first American-made tractor with a hydraulic three-point.

From the agriculture exhibit. The 1939 Prototype 9N Ford-Ferguson. The first American-made tractor with a hydraulic three-point.

A New Holland Forage Harvester very similar to the types I used on the farms I worked on in High School...hey, why is that stuff in a Museum???

A New Holland Forage Harvester very similar to the types I used on the farms I worked on in High School…hey, why is that stuff in a Museum???

One of my favorites...I loved watching Charles Kuralt's "On the Road" series growing up.  This series lasted 27 years.  This FMC Corporation Motorhome carried a three-man crew on America's back roads, telling stories about extraordinary "ordinary" people.  I believe this was their last Coach, as they went through several over the years.

One of my favorites…I loved watching Charles Kuralt’s “On the Road” series growing up. This series lasted 27 years. This FMC Corporation Motorhome carried a three-man crew on America’s back roads, telling stories about extraordinary “ordinary” people. I believe this was their last Coach, as they went through several over the years.

The 1959 VW Westfalia Camper.

The 1959 VW Westfalia Camper.

My brother Randy and his wife Babette and I in front of a Mustang exhibit.

My brother Randy and his wife Babette and I in front of a Mustang exhibit.

There is so much to see here, and I only touched the surface in this blog.  Check it out, as it is much more than I could have imagined or explained here.

I was blessed to be invited over for dinner once again, and enjoyed the company of Randy and Babette, Alex and Ashley for an awesome dinner.

Pork Chop-A-Mania

Pork Chop-A-Mania

It was an absolute blast to be able to spend this much time with my brother and his family this week, and I hope this is just the beginning of many more visits with our friends and relatives that we have not been able to spend much time with over the past years.  Tomorrow I pack up early and head to Onan-Cummins in Elkhart, IN for service, and hope to be able to head to WI either Tues. night or early Wed.

 

One thought on “5 Oct 14, a Prude and The Henry Ford Museum

  1. Awesome weekend. I’ll visit the Ford museum if I get in that part of our great nation.
    Northwestern is a very good team this year.
    Safe travels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

