18-19 October; A Sunny Day(!) A Broken Water Hose and a Baptism

Saturday was gorgeous.  Plenty of sun.  Went to our Nephew Seth’s house for a bit and watched him finish off the stone steps for his front porch.  It is really fun to watch these folks up here work and see how talented they are.  We then went to Rob and Pat’s cabin in Tigerton, and Rob and I took a ride while the ladies played Cribbage. We must have seen at least 50 deer in a 7 mile block.  We also saw two bald eagles that were right next to the road.  They must have seen a dead deer close, as they were not too scared off by us.

On our first pass, the eagles took off at the same time.

On our first pass, the eagles took off at the same time.

We turned around and came back and they were across the road.  Had to zoom with my iPhone, so not too good of quality.  I guess I need to invest in a good camera (hint hint Terri).

We turned around and came back and they were across the road. Had to zoom with my iPhone, so not too good of quality. I guess I need to invest in a good camera (hint hint Terri).

Standing Guard

Standing Guard

We saw so many deer, but I couldn't get any good pictures.  There is one in this shot, but it is hard to see.  I am still amazed by the colors.  Terri said I have to stop with the tree pictures, but I love it.

We saw so many deer, but I couldn’t get any good pictures. There is one in this shot, but it is hard to see. I am still amazed by the colors. Terri said I have to stop with the tree pictures, but I love it.

We went back to the cabin, and played four handed cribbage.  I won’t say how many times Terri and I won because we certainly want to be invited back again sometime.

Dumb Ron:  Saturday night was the coldest night so far…27 degrees.  When we got back to the Coach, I remembered that I still had my water hose hooked up.  I didn’t have the water on, but as many years as this hose spent in the Florida Sun, it was quite weathered.  When I hit the switch to spool it in, I heard water splashing inside the bay.  The hose cracked in several places in the last 8 or so feet to the nozzle, and all of the residual water in the hose drained out.  What a mess!  The last 10 or so feet of the hose was so brittle, I could snap it in half with no problem.  I picked up a new end at Ace today, and installed it when we got back tot he Coach this afternoon.  All seems to be working well.  I trimmed back another 6 or so feet to get to the hose that had not spent a lot of time in the Florida sun.  So now we have a 30 something foot hose, but I carry extra extensions just in case.

Tech Tip: Check the quality of your hoses, especially if you are going to be in cold weather.  I am going to invest in a heated hose that I can plug into the 20 Amp power pedestal.  I will use this one to run into the bay to hook into the reeled hose when we are in cooler weather to prevent things like this from happening again.  This really was not a “frozen hose” situation, rather it was a hose that was broken down and brittle, and the cold helped it meet its maker.

Old, brittle, crappy hose.

Old, brittle, crappy hose.

Better part of the old hose with the new end attached.

Better part of the old hose with the new end attached.

Today was a very special day!  We were privileged to attend the baptism of our nephew Ryan and his wife Manda’s son Mason.  It was a great service, followed by an awesome get-together and meal at Ryan and Manda’s house with many relatives…and a huge Packer win!!  This kid is really cute!

Mason sitting on my lap wondering what the heck he is looking at that is so odd!

Mason sitting on my lap wondering what the heck he is looking at that is so odd!

We had not been to Ryan’s house before, and they have a really nice place.  It was great to see the deer that he shot with a bow on our land and has mounted.  He also shared some photos from his game camera.  That little piece of land is producing some nice deer!

I remember when Ryan sent the picture the day he got this deer.  I was jumping up and down and fired up happy for him.

I remember when Ryan sent the picture the day he got this deer. I was jumping up and down and fired up happy for him.

We continue to have an awesome time in our homeland, and are looking forward to this next week which is supposed to be filled with great weather after a rainy day tomorrow.  We will likely transition out of here to Pike Lake on Tuesday, as the kids will be coming in on Wednesday (except for Jason, Meghan and Peyton who can’t make it as Meghan is real close to her due date) for Seth and Lindy’s wedding which is next Saturday.  Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

