24-29 October; A Wedding, A Surgery, A Move, and a lot of fun!

What a great past few days!  It was awesome spending time with many, many family and friends!

Thursday ended with rain, and Friday started with it as well.  The sun appeared for just a bit in the late afternoon, but that did not put a damper on the day.  Terri, Toby and I were up early, as Terri made an appointment for me to get my hair cut and beard trimmed for the wedding…something about me looking like a Wolverine or some such nonsense.  She made an appointment with the wife of a friend of hers from High School.  She did a great job…I was told to close my eyes as she took the chain saw to the beard.  She didn’t get it all!  She also took the time to trim Toby up for the wedding on Saturday.  Terri wanted to go look for a dress (I was thrilled…not.)  Thankfully we were only at the store for a bit when Ashley, Mandi and Justin showed up.  Grand kids are great, as you have heard me state before.  I saw my escape and I took it.  I told them Toby needed to go down for a nap and I would be more than happy to take him back and put him down, which I did.  I was able to get some work done while Toby sang and did everything else but sleep in his room.  I swear that kid can dance a Pack and Play Crib across a room like nobody’s business.  He finally succumbed after an hour or so.  The gang arrived back later in the afternoon, and this was the perfect opportunity to install the new part in the toilet.

Tech Tip:  I posted on 17 October about replacing the vacuum breaker and teflon seals on the toilet we have in the RV.  After that “fix” the flush valve developed a leak.  The part was delivered in a day, but I hadn’t had the time to get to it.  Justin was a great help with this not so fun to do task.  Actually, replacing the valve was easy…it was the leak that developed in the supply hose afterward that caused the issue!  Next time I have to replace anything on this toilet, I’m going to order every connected part and replace them all.  Sealand Tech (taken over by Dometic) and Country Coach used an 1/2″ to 1/2″ IPX 24″ hose to go from the supply line in the wall to the valve.  I think that having to remove the supply hose to the valve caused the hose to leak at the valve connection.  So…a 15 minute job turned into a three-hour job after all the running around we had to do.  I went to the local hardware store, and they did not have anything close., so we went to the ACE about 20 miles away, and figured they could make one.  The guy said the cannot make them due to liability reasons…for a house I can see that, but not for an RV.  Off to the largest RV dealer in the area next…another 15 miles.  We called ahead and they said they likely had the part, or could make it…NOT!  The owner came out and told me that the part WAS NOT FROM AN RV!  I kindly invited him back to the RV to see where I’d removed the part…apparently he’s never seen a Country Coach.  He also said they could not build it.  Now we were off to the largest store in the Wausau area…Menards…7 more miles.  Those guys there were great.  They were able to cobble something together that is working great.  I am still going to go on-line and see if I can find the exact replacement as a spare.  A company called Anderson-Barrow made the original part, and they have been taken over by another company, and apparently don’t deal in RV or Marine parts any longer.  If you are in the market for a “new to you” RV, make sure you can find parts.  I have been very lucky so far, and have had great help from several “craftsmen” that have helped me figure out how to “cobble” the right part(s) together to make “whatever” work.  I think this new line is actually better than the original, as it is braided.  I was worried because the line diameter is smaller, but have not had any issues at all…the flush factor is good!

Justin and I made it back in time to spend some time outside with everyone.  Toby is doing great on his strider bike, and was hitting the hills:

Cruisin!

Cruisin!

Later on we walked over to Slammers on Pike Lake with the rest of the gang for a good old Wisconsin Friday Night Fish Fry.  The Haddock was great, as were the beer battered fries, and the remains of Ashley’s deep-fried cheese curds.  Yep…a real cardiac meal, but man it was sooo good!  By the time we got back and settled, Garreck, Emma and Eli arrived.  It was great to see them.  We chatted for a while and hit the rack, as Saturday is Wedding Day.

There is no way you could have asked for a better late October Saturday than what Seth and Lindy got for the wedding.  Mid to upper 60’s and blue bird skies!  The morning was awesome, so Ashley and I took off early to walk our land.  What a blast that was.  When we got back, Toby and I took a stroll down to the lake.  I’ll never tire of the views at Pike Lake, or the company we have had every time we have been there:

Toby, Gramps and Shiloh checking out the lake.  Great shot Garreck!

Toby, Gramps and Shiloh checking out the lake. Great shot Garreck!

We managed to get everyone dressed and ready to go early so we could stop and get some replacements parts on the way to the wedding…you know, the forgotten belts, socks and whatever else doesn’t quite make it in the bag when you travel in a hurry as most of the kids did.  The wedding was spectacular.  Congrats Seth and Lindy:

Mr and Mrs Seth Jozwiak.  (Would have been nice to have a good zoom digital camera...hint hint Terri)

Mr and Mrs Seth Jozwiak. (Would have been nice to have a good zoom digital camera…hint hint Terri)

I love this shot of Toby and I…well, not me so much, but Toby refused to remove his “shades” when we got inside.  He also loved the soloist so much that every time she finished a song he said out loud in a quiet church…”again,” “again Grampa.”

Joe Kewl

Joe Kewl

The reception and food were awesome, and it was really great to see and catch up with so many friends and relatives.  We got a great shot of the Jozwiak’s, Sicklers’s, Emeneckers, Stowell’s, Goldberg’s and Ten Haken’s.  This was quite a production to get this done!

Got the whole family except for Jason, Meghan and Peyton...missed you guys!

Got the whole family except for Jason, Meghan and Peyton…missed you guys!

Sunday was another awesome day.  Unfortunately Garreck, Emma and Eli had to head back for school and work, but all good things must come to an end.  How about one more shot of the lake, where I spent most of the day?IMG_3488

Sunday night, most of us went over to my Aunts house for a great dinner and an absolutely horrible Packer game!  That being said, it was priceless to get together with the entire Mortenson gang again.  We appreciate every opportunity we have to get together and catch up on life…four ( and almost five) babies were in the room, so there is a lot of life going on!!

Monday was one of those sad days, when we had to say our good bye’s to the rest of the clan.  If there was any way that Terri and I could have everyone in one place, we would do it, but that is not the case, and this is the main reason we are living the RV life.  We have had some really good quality time with our kids over the past few weeks, and we will have many, many more.

Later on Monday, we moved over to Terri’s mom’s house.  We wanted to stay an extra day or two, as Shirley was having knee replacement surgery on Tues morning.  The surgery went real well, and she is on the road to recovery.  She is an awesome lady, and we are hoping the road to recovery is swift.

Late last night, we stopped at Patti’s house to indulge in some of the left overs from the wedding meal.  It was awesome, and I’m happy to say I’ve just enjoyed another meal of the same a few minutes ago, as Patti sent us off with several containers of chicken, beef tips, lasagna, slaw, potatoes, stuffing, and on and on!

We were up much later than planned this morning, as it was move day, but we did get on the road by 0900.  I found a park in the Champaign-Urbana, IL area that was about 400 miles from Terri’s mom’s house.  The trip was really nice, although cloudy and cold.  We still have several issues we are dealing with maintenance wise on the Coach, but that is par for the course with this life.  I’m losing coolant somewhere, but can find no leak.  I think the hydronic heater is the culprit, but I will have to pull many bay panels to find out for sure.  That is a project for when we get to Sumter, SC where we will be for two months or so.  In the mean time, I just add a bit at every stop.  I have had no high temp issues at all on the road, so am a bit befuddled, but will figure it out eventually.  I’m also still chasing a small water leak from the wet bay…it is running away from me faster than I can chase it presently, but I’ll track it down.

The park we are in is very nice.  It is called D&W Lake RV Park LLC.  Here is a link: http://www.dwlake.com/ Why the Champaign-Urbana, IL area you say?  Well, a couple of reasons.  Number one is we have travelled through this area so many times over the years and never stopped…we want to see what is here.  Number two is that it is one of the only parks in the area that are still open.  We are slowly working our way down to Jason and Meghan’s in SC.

Time to close this up.  You may ask…hey, I thought this was an RV Life Blog?  Well, it is.  It is the Ron and Terri RV Life Blog, and that means family, friends, as well as the good, the bad and the ugly of this lifestyle (mostly the good).  We feel so blessed to be able to live this lifestyle for as long as it lasts.  Every day is a new adventure, and we are looking forward to much, much more.  Oh, by the way, I have a very nice, very reasonably priced home on the Space Coast in Florida for sale.  PLEASE let anyone you know that may be interested that this great house available.  Check out the link for the video:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV_dAb9DcGE&feature=you.be  Call my realtor at 321-795-6972 (That’s Terri by the way.)

Well, that is it for now.  There really is a lot to see in this area, so I hope to report on that before we head to (I think) Northern TN on Saturday!!

 

One thought on “24-29 October; A Wedding, A Surgery, A Move, and a lot of fun!

  1. Hey Ron – it’s a great blog — the “Ron and Terri RV Life Blog”. I look forward to every installment. Keep it up – you can make a book out of it for the GrandKids. Great photos too! Take kare, have FUN.

    Like

Leave a Reply

