4-7 Feb 2015; A Move, Bingo, Family, Switch “Not Fix,” Mardi Gras

Wednesday was move day. We were up early, cleaned up, tanks dumped and ready to pull out sooner than we needed. We were only going about 120 miles, so there wasn’t a big rush.

We were happy to have Michele stop by for some goodbyes before we headed out. We were on the road by 1000, and stopped for fuel near our old home.

Tech Tip:  We have learned a few things about fuel over the past near six months of travel.

1.  We like to refuel at the large truck stops when we can, as there is much more room to maneuver, especially when I am pulling the truck, at which point we are about 56′ in length.  We also avoid RV lanes at larger truck and travel stops when they are available, as they are unusually narrow, hard to get in or out of, and have the low flow pumps that you would find for diesel at your neighborhood gas station. The commercial pumps flow at least twice as fast as the RV lane pumps. To date, all of the truckers we have interfaced with have been very nice and courteous, which is nice considering they are typically schedule driven much more than we are.

2.  Don’t use your debit or credit card at the pump.  Go inside and let them know you have an RV, use your rewards card if you have one to accumulate discounts or points (like Good Sam) and if you can swing it…pay cash!  At most places we have re-fueled, the cash price is anywhere from .08-.10 cents cheaper per gallon. This adds up when you are pumping 55 or 110 gallons of fuel.  In some instances, some states charge a lower price if you are not a commercial operator…this can be significant as well.

After the fuel stop, we had a very enjoyable ride to Leesburg where we are presently parked at the Holiday Travel and RV Resort off of CR 33 just South of Leesburg. We arrived about 1:00pm, and check-in was a breeze, and we were completely set up by 2:00PM.

Tech Tip:  Go through your routine as a team and get set-up in the order you usually do before you chat it up with the neighbors!  The folks here are some of the most friendly and accommodating people we have met to date on the road; however, too many interruptions during set up or take down can lead to critical mistakes. Most people understand if you politely tell them you will be happy to chat after you get set up. We had three different really nice people come over to talk right after we pulled in and were trying to get the Coach level. We finally had to say to them what I just said above. They were all very understanding, and we have enjoyed many great conversations with them since. Getting out of your routine can cause you to miss something that could be damaging to your Coach or others, so stay in the zone until you are set.

The sites here are fairly wide, but they are not level at all. Terri is the eagle eye, and can usually tell where I need to be so the leveling system will actually get us level. Our first shot was a no-go. Of course it was where I initially pulled in and thought was where we should be. We knew we would have to use the leveling blocks for the front just to get the front high enough for the auto leveling to max out and get us level front to rear…there was also a slight right to left issue. After the first failed attempt, I moved the Coach to where she wanted, and after getting the front on the blocks, it didn’t take long at all to get level.

This is a really nice resort, but for the crazy price we are paying (more than we have at any park to date) you would at least expect 50AMP service.  They advertise 50 AMP for most sites, but I believe that is for the numerous Park Models they have here. I have seen no other RV sites with 50 AMP. They also have no breakers on the electrical box, which is not good.

All that aside, as mentioned above, it is really nice here.  Two pools, 18 hole mini golf, marina, restaurant, numerous activity centers, and a lot of people from Wisconsin!!  How could you go wrong??  Terri and I took a bike ride today, and could not find one single license plate that was from West of the Mississippi. Mostly Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, New York, PA, Indiana, Kentucky, Virginia and Maine. That was a lot of looking at plates too…there are over 900 sites here!!

Here are some departure and arrival shots:

Bikes all loaded and ready to go.  Love my new bike and used bike rack that we picked up for less than half of a new one!

Bikes all loaded and ready to go. Love my new bike and used bike rack that we picked up for less than half of a new one!

New flag pole and mount and our house in its spot for a week. Thanks Roger for your help in getting me "flagged up" again!

New flag pole and mount and our house in its spot for a week. Thanks Roger for your help in getting me “flagged up” again!

Another shot of the site. Mat is out, bikes unloaded...ready to explore.

Another shot of the site. Mat is out, bikes unloaded…ready to explore.

After a couple of meetings for work, Terri and I headed out to explore. I said it above, but have to reiterate, the folks here are very, very friendly!  We biked past one of the activity centers, and noted they had bingo on Wed at 7, so it was a date.  After making burgers on the grill, we headed over to try our luck if the price was right.  Cards were $1.00 a piece for the whole night, so I got two and Terri got three…we didn’t win anything, but had a great time meeting new friends.

Our main reason for being in Leesburg is to spend some time with my parents before we head West.  The bonus of this trip is that my Aunt is visiting my parents the same time that Terri and I are here.  We woke on Thurs to some rainy, windy, and cooler weather.  I had some work telecons, and we had some laundry to do, so after that was all done, we got ready to head to my parents.  Prior to that, the wind really picked up, so I ventured out into the rain and put all the awnings in.

We had a great afternoon and evening playing cards…and guess what?  Thursday night is bingo night at my parents.  How did we do?  Let me put is this way, we were asked several times not to come back!!  The price was .25 per card for all night and Terri won twice!  People take their bingo seriously around here!!!  Well, at least we have enough for laundry for the next few weeks.

Friday morning we met my parents and my Aunt for breakfast along with my dad and Aunts cousin from WI.  We had a great time, and I think if we had stayed longer they would have charged us rent for the table space.   My Aunt came back to the park with us, as we wanted to show her our “house,” and the park here was putting on their annual craft show…those are the words every guy wants to here when he arrives somewhere.  Thankfully I had some work to do later on.  After a once around the craft show, Terri and my Aunt headed back to my parents so I could work and play unabated.  Before they left, I attempted to replace the water pump switches that I’ve mentioned in the past that cause us to run from front to back to get the pump to shut off  when we leave for any period of time.  I think they were both afraid I was going to electrocute myself, so they waited until I was done before they left.  I got the switches replaced, which is what my mechanic indicated the problem was, but for the first time, Gene was wrong.  Both switches are now new, but the “kabuki” dance will continue.  There is an in-line relay that must be bad, so I will have to find it and replace it.  Oh well, I have a couple of spare parts now.

Finding the connection of the old switch wires was a pain.  Several drawers removed and being a contortionist proved to be the ticket.

Finding the connection of the old switch wires was a pain. Several drawers removed and being a contortionist proved to be the ticket.

The old wire job lacked to say the least.  I used new caps and re-taped everything and zip tied everything up high so the wires don't interfere with the drawer.

The old wire job lacked to say the least, as seen above. I used new caps and re-taped everything and zip tied everything up high so the wires don’t interfere with the drawer.

New switch up front.  This one was a challenge, as I had to remove the main panel that houses everything you see.

New switch up front. This one was a challenge, as I had to remove the main panel that houses everything you see.

New bathroom switch.

New bathroom switch.

After my meetings, and since I was on my own I took a swing around the park on my bike.

This is the perimeter road with the boat slips on the right that allow access to Big Lake Harris and Park Models on the right.

This is the perimeter road with the boat slips on the right that allow access to Big Lake Harris and Park Models on the left.

I think most people show up with a boat each year!

I think most people show up with a boat each year!

Terri was back later in the afternoon, and started looking for reservations for her mother and sister to come visit us in TX in March. We finalized that today, and I also made reservations for us for next week.

Dumb Ron:  We were parked next to some folks last week that have been full-timing for about five years, so we asked for any advice they could give.  One of the nuggets of knowledge they provided was to make sure you know what is going on the areas that you are traveling too…you know, holidays, fairs, concerts…and maybe SPRING BREAK OR MARDI GRAS!?!?  So…we had planned to stay at military Fam camps in the pan handle of FL and further west the next couple of weeks, but most are full due to the aforementioned.  So…I found out that Moody AFB in GA has a nice (according to all reviews) Fam Camp just over the border of FL about 150 miles from here.  I booked a week there starting next Wed.  Works out to $17 per night for full hook ups, a lake, fishing, hiking and bike trails, etc.  Much better rates than we have here.  Hopefully at least the Mardi Gras crowd will be gone by the time we leave there.  I will start making calls early next week for reservations to get us closer to TX.  Our reservations at the Guadalupe River State Park start on March 11.

We had a great time this morning just getting things squared away here.  Speaking of Mardi Gras…Leesburg has a had a huge celebration for about the past 18 years.  We hit a few yard sales (didn’t buy anything…if you bring something in, something has to go, and we are still in the “go” stage) and we headed downtown to catch the kids parade.  We had a great time, and headed back to the Coach for a bike ride and another trip around the craft show (man card gone again.)  There was some great entertainment there that we watched for a while however.  We then headed to my parents for some Double Euchre, and then Terri and I headed downtown for the Mardi Gras Parade.

The bands, floats, and entertainment were all real good.

The bands, floats, and entertainment were all real good.

Apparently the Shriners now all drive motorized beer coolers....who knew??

Apparently the Shriners now all drive motorized beer coolers….who knew??

We were home by 8…great timing!  Many of you have asked how I work from the road and what my “office” looks like…well, here you go:

Triple screens, and a print/scan capability.  Works well.

Triple screens, and a print/scan capability. Works well.

Tomorrow is looking busy as well.  We will head to church at 0930, and hope to catch up with Mandi and Justin for a bit, pick up our mail (new flag light and bike rack lock awaiting) and one last trip to the storage unit in Orlando…thank God!

As always, we hope you are healthy, happy and living your dreams!

Leave a Reply

